## 1 n d govtjob.in.net

## State and Capitals of India

India currently has 28 states. You can find a comprehensive list of the states and their capitals in India for 2023 in the PDF table below. It is important for both competitive exam preparation and general knowledge as an Indian citizen to be aware of this information. The states and capitals of India 2023 are listed in alphabetical order for your convenience. Take a look at the table of states and capitals in India 2023, which includes the 28 state capitals. Get familiar with the number of states in India in 2023 and the names of the 28 states. For a complete understanding of the states and capitals of India in 2023, refer to the list provided here.

Sr No.	States Name	Capitals
01	Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati
02	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
03	Assam	Dispur
04	Bihar	Patna
05	Chhattisgarh	Raipur
06	Goa	Panaji
07	Gujarat	Gandhinagar
08	Haryana	Chandigarh
09	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
10	Jharkhand	Ranchi
11	Karnataka	Bengaluru
12	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
13	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal
14	Maharashtra	Mumbai
15	Manipur	Imphal
16	Meghalaya	Shilong
17	Mizoram	Aizawl
18	Nagaland	Kohima
19	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
20	Punjab	Chandigarh
21	Rajasthan	Jaipur
22	Sikkim	Gangtok

23	Tamil Nadu	Chennai	
24	Telangana	Hyderabad	
25	Tripura	Agartala	
26	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	
27	Uttarakhand	Dehradun (Winter), Gairsain (Summer)	
28	West Bengal	Kolkata	

## **Union Territories and Their Capitals List**

Since January 26, 2020, India has had 8 union territories. You can find a list of these union territories, along with their capitals, in the India 2023 list here. The union territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli have been merged into a single territory. On August 5, the Indian government also revoked the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and divided it into two union territories: Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. With this merger, the number of union territories in India remains at eight.

Sr No.	States	Capitals
01	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	Port Blair
02	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
03	Dadra and Nagar haveli and Daman & Diu	Daman
04	The Government of NCT of Delhi	Delhi
05	Jammu and Kashmir	Srinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)
06	Ladakh	Leh
07	Lakshadweep	Kavaratti
08	Puducherry	Puducherry

## Also Download PDF:

- \* First Women in India PDF
- \* First Men in India PDF
- \* List of Indian Constitution Parts PDF
- List of Tiger Reserves in India PDF
- National Parks in India PDF

